Teaching Resources

Our Canadian money  

1 dollar

1 dollar

1 dollar

1 dollar

1 dollar

1 dollar

1 dollar

1 dollar

1 dollar




Who is on the Canadian dollar bills?

Canadian money

$5 Canadian Dollars Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Prime Minister

$10 Canadian Dollars    – Sir John A. MacDonald, Prime Minister

$20 Canadian Dollars   – Queen Elizabeth II

$50 Canadian Dollars   – Sir William Lyon MacKenzie King, Prime Minister

$100 Canadian Dollars  – Sir Robert Borden, Prime Minister


Who are they?

Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Prime Minister

Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Prime Minister  of Canada 1896–1911, lawyer, journalist, politician (born 20 November 1841 in St-Lin, Canada East; died 17 February 1919 in Ottawa, ON ). As leader of the Liberal Party 1887–1919 and prime minister 1896–1911, Laurier was the dominant political figure of his era.


Sir John A. MacDonald, Prime MinisterSir John Alexander Macdonald, Prime Minister of Canada (1867–1873, 1878–1891).  Macdonald’s greatest achievements were building and guiding a successful national government for the new Dominion, using patronage to forge a strong Conservative Party, promoting the protective tariff of the National Policy, and building the transcontinental Canadian Pacific Railway. He fought to block provincial efforts to take power back from Ottawa. His most controversial move was to approve the execution of Métis leader Louis Riel for treason in 1885; it alienated many Francophones.

Queen Elizabeth II black and whiteQueen Elizabeth II (Elizabeth Alexandra Mary; born 21 April 1926) is, and has been since her accession in 1952, Queen of the United KingdomCanadaAustralia, and New Zealand, and Head of the Commonwealth. She is also Queen of 12 countries that have become independent since her accession: JamaicaBarbadosthe BahamasGrenadaPapua New GuineaSolomon Islands,TuvaluSaint LuciaSaint Vincent and the GrenadinesBelizeAntigua and Barbuda, and Saint Kitts and Nevis.[b]

Sir William Lyon MacKenzie KingSir William Lyon Mackenzie King (December 17, 1874 – July 22, 1950), also commonly known as Mackenzie King, was the dominant Canadian political leader that served as the tenth Prime Minister of Canada in 1921–1926, 1926–1930, and 1935–1948. He is best known for his leadership of Canada throughout the Second World War (1939–1945) when he mobilised Canadian money, supplies and volunteers to support Britain while boosting the economy and maintaining home front morale.

Sir Robert BordenSir Robert Laird Borden, (June 26, 1854 – June 10, 1937) was a Canadian lawyer and politician. He served as theeighth Prime Minister of Canada from October 10, 1911, to July 10, 1920, and was the third Nova Scotian to hold this office. After retiring from public life, he served as the chancellor of Queen’s University. His portrait appears on Canadian $100 notes produced since 1976.


In 1937, new Canadian coinage is introduced.

New reverse designs are introduced for the following coins:




One cent

Maple leaf

G.E. Kruger-Gray

Five cents


G.E. Kruger-Gray

Ten cents


Emanuel Hahn

Twenty-five cents


Emanuel Hahn

Fifty cents

Coat of Arms

G.E. Kruger-Gray

1967 – Canadian artist and sculptor Alex Colville created six new designs to commemorate Canada’s centennial.

The designs for Canada’s coinage is as follows:





Rock dove

Spiritual values and peace



Emblematic of fertility and new life



To represent continuity



Embodiment of intelligence and decisive action

50-cent piece

Howling wolf

To evoke the vastness of Canada

Silver dollar


Dynamic serenity


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *